Home‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Major Minors collect Young Player of the Year Awards

posted 26 Jan 2015, 04:38 by Jimmy O'Brien   [ updated 26 Jan 2015, 04:52 ]
Two of our most promising underage footballers were the joint winners of the club’s young female Player of the Year award at the club’s Annual Juvenile Awards Ceremony last Saturday night in Rathcormac hall. Amanda Healy & Rachel Oates were part of the minor team which won the County B championship title in 2014. Apart from their exploits on the field of play, the girls played a key role in generating momentum across their age group, which helped ensure the club was able to field a team at this grade.
(Jude McGarry had previously been named the boys Young Player of the Year at the Club's Annual Presentation during the Christmas break).

The awards night was also a celebration for several other underage teams who enjoyed success in 2014. The Girls U-12, U-14 and U-16 sides all enjoyed strong campaigns in 2014 and received their various medals on the night. So too did the boys U-12 team which won the A League and B Cup competitions. 
The growth of hurling at underage level was also highlighted with the Under 12 team receiving their A Championship winners medals. And there were two sets of medals for the club’s Under 14 side which won the B Championship and were Sligo’s representatives at Feile 2014. The organisers would like to thank Ken Foley and Supermacs for providing the catering on the night, DJ Colin Feeney and especially the parents and families of the footballers who attended.